You are here


This section contains information about WPF Puzzle GP Playoffs.

Here you can download the Puzzle Instruction Booklet for WPF Puzzle Playoffs:
Puzzle Playoffs (pdf - 1 411kB)
Save the puzzles into your computer. Click the right button and save / save as

Adobe Acrobat

General Playoff Format:

The Puzzle Grand Prix competitive playoffs will consist of eight puzzles, to be solved in a fixed order. The puzzles contain a selection of puzzles representative of the Puzzle GP series. Each host nation has contributed puzzles to the playoffs; one from each host nation is selected by the tournament director.

The competitors will begin with a staggered start based on the total number of points earned in the qualifying rounds. The 10th-place finisher in the GP will start two minutes after the 1st-place finisher. Other finishers will start at different times proportional to the number of points they are behind the 1st-place finisher:

Competitor Position Points Start Time (mm:ss)
Ken Endo (Japan) 1st 5331.4 00:00
Ulrich Voigt (Germany) 2nd 4966.4 00:41
Hideaki Jo (Japan) 3rd 4767.6 01:03
Nikola Živanović (Serbia) 4th 4617.4 01:19
Kota Morinishi (Japan) 5th 4423.9 01:41
Prasanna Seshadri (India) 6th 4415.2 01:42
Will Blatt (USA) 7th 4370.1 01:47
Robert Vollmert (Germany) 8th 4263.4 01:59
Michael Ley (Germany) 10th 4252.9 02:00
Przemysław Dębiak (Poland) 12th 3773.0 02:53
Competitor Position Points Start Time (mm:ss)

When a competitor completes a puzzle, he can raise his hand to indicate to a proctor that he is done. The entire grid will then be judged over the next minute. After one minute, if the puzzle is correct, the proctor will indicate the competitor can begin the next puzzle. If the puzzle is incorrect, the proctor will return the incorrect puzzle to the competitor but will make no indication of where any mistake is in that grid. The competitor can resubmit a returned puzzle at any time, but another full one minute grading process will follow.

The playoffs will continue until 3 solvers have completed all puzzles correctly. These solvers, in order of finish, will be the top 3 winners for this year‘s Puzzle Grand Prix for the Competitive section.