You are here


This section contains information about WPF Sudoku GP Playoffs.

Here you can download the Sudoku Instruction Booklet for WPF Sudoku Playoffs:
Sudoku Playoffs (pdf - 809kB)
Save the puzzles into your computer. Click the right button and save / save as

Adobe Acrobat

General Playoff Format:

The Sudoku Grand Prix playoffs will consist of eight puzzles, to be solved in a fixed order. The puzzles contain a selection of puzzles representative of the Sudoku GP series. Each host nation has contributed puzzles to the playoffs; one from each host nation is selected by the tournament director.

The competitors will begin with a staggered start based on the total number of points earned in the qualifying rounds. The 10th-place finisher in the GP will start two minutes after the 1st-place finisher. Other finishers will start at different times proportional to the number of points they are behind the 1st-place finisher.

Competitor Position Points Start Time (mm:ss)
Tiit Vunk (Estonia) 1st 5216.8 00:00
Tantan Dai (China) 2nd 5049.6 00:21
Kota Morinishi (Japan) 3rd 4840.2 00:47
Jakub Ondroušek (Czech Republic) 4th 4718.4 01:02
Takuya Sugimoto (Japan) 5th 4579.6 01:19
Seungjae Kwak (South Korea) 6th 4470.9 01:32
Jan Mrozowski (Poland) 7th 4420.8 01:39
Sinchai Rungsangrattanakul (Thailand) 8th 4358.1 01:46
Michael Ley (Germany) 9th 4332.7 01:49
Cheran Sun (China) 12th 4051.3 02:24
Competitor Position Points Start Time (mm:ss)

When a competitor completes a puzzle, he can raise his hand to indicate to a proctor that he is done. The entire grid will then be judged over the next minute. After one minute, if the puzzle is correct, the proctor will indicate the competitor can begin the next puzzle. If the puzzle is incorrect, the proctor will return the incorrect puzzle to the competitor but will make no indication of where any mistake is in that grid. The competitor can resubmit a returned puzzle at any time, but another full one minute grading process will follow.

The playoffs will continue until 3 solvers have completed all puzzles correctly. These solvers, in order of finish, will be the top 3 winners for this year’s Sudoku Prix.