You are here


This section contains information about WPF Puzzle GP Playoffs.

Here you can download the Puzzle Instruction Booklet for WPF Puzzle Playoffs:
Puzzle Playoffs (pdf - 972kB)
Save the puzzles into your computer. Click the right button and save / save as

Adobe Acrobat

General Playoff Format:

The Puzzle Grand Prix playoffs will consist of eight puzzles, to be solved in a fixed order. The puzzles contain
a selection of puzzles representative of the Puzzle GP series. Each host nation has contributed puzzles to the
playoffs; one from each host nation is selected by the tournament director.

The competitors will begin with a staggered start based on the total number of points earned in the
qualifying rounds. The 10th-place finisher in the GP will start two minutes after the 1st-place finisher. Other
finishers will start at different times proportional to the number of points they are behind the 1st-place

Competitor Position Points Start Time (mm:ss)
Ken Endo (Japan) 1st 5181.2 00:00
Bram de Laat (Netherlands) 3rd 4180.5 01:18
Walker Anderson (USA) 4th 4173.6 01:19
Kota Morinishi (Japan) 5th 4049.2 01:28
Michael Ley (Germany) 7th 3953.3 01:36
Yuki Kawabe (Japan) 8th 3844.0 01:44
Robert Vollmert (Germany) 9th 3778.2 01:50
Nikola Zivanovic (Sebia) 11th 3621.7 02:02
Neil Zussman (UK) 12th 3585.0 02:05
Tiit Vunk (Estonia) 13th 3469.2 02:14
Competitor Position Points Start Time (mm:ss)

When a competitor completes a puzzle, he can raise his hand to indicate to a proctor that he is done. The entire grid will then be judged over the next minute. After one minute, if the puzzle is correct, the proctor will indicate the competitor can begin the next puzzle. If the puzzle is incorrect, the proctor will return the incorrect puzzle to the competitor but will make no indication of where any mistake is in that grid. The competitor can resubmit a returned puzzle at any time, but another full one minute grading process will follow.

The playoffs will continue until 3 solvers have completed all puzzles correctly. These solvers, in order of finish, will be the top 3 winners for this year‘s Puzzle Grand Prix for the Competitive section.